Über Avedon

Wir investieren in schnell wachsende Unternehmen, welche sich in einer Situation befinden, wo eine Wachstumsbeteiligung in Kombination mit Sektor Expertise und operativer Unterstützung signifikanten Wert für alle Gesellschafter schaffen kann.

Unser Fokus

Wir glauben, dass wir uns fortlaufend klar differenzieren müssen, um in unseren Portfoliounternehmen einen nachhaltigen Mehrwert beizusteuern. Wir haben besonders in den folgenden Kernbereichen eine langfristige Erfolgsbilanz aufgebaut:

NISCHEN-MARKTFÜHRER / HIDDEN CHAMPIONS

Wir investieren in Nischenmarktführer mit bewährten und profitablen Geschäftsmodellen in ihren Kernaktivitäten oder in Unternehmen mit großem Potential, welche in wachsenden und dynamischen Märkten aktiv sind. Diese Unternehmen verfügen über einzigartige Services- oder Produktionsmodelle, welche in einem unserer Fokusmärkte einen nachhaltigen Mehrwert gegenüber Wettbewerbern bieten.

Mittelstand in Deutschland und den Benelux Ländern

Wir investieren in Unternehmen, die in der Regel einen Unternehmenswert von 15 bis 150 Mio. € haben und ausreichend Raum für potenzielle Optimierungen und Wachstum aufweisen. Wir fokussieren uns hauptsächlich auf Wachstumsunternehmen mit Standorten in den Benelux-Ländern und der DACH Region, aber wir haben die Flexibilität auch in Skandinavien, Frankreich und der UK in Branchen, die wir gut kennen, zu investieren. Unsere Eigenkapitalbeteiligungen reichen von 20 bis 120 Mio. € (mit der Möglichkeit auf höhere Summen zuzugreifen und diese zu investieren).

Potential für Professionalisierung und Wachstum

Wir unterstützen Firmen, indem wir ihnen Kapital und Expertise zur Verfügung stellen, um leistungsstarke und skalierbare Unternehmen mit dem Potential zu signifikantem Umsatzwachstum zu schaffen. Beispiele von typischen Wachstumsstrategien, die wir erfolgreich umgesetzt haben, sind: (i) Internationale Expansion (ii) Buy-and-Build (iii) Skalierung eines geprüften Geschäftsmodells (iv) sowie eine Kombination dergleichen.

Partnerschaft mit Management oder Gründer

Wir unterstützen Unternehmen mit Bedarf an Wachstumskapital, (Management-)Buyouts, Unternehmensnachfolgen und Unternehmensveräußerungen, wo wir partnerschaftlich mit einem starken und engagierten Management-Team oder Gründern/Eigentümern zusammenarbeiten können, welche einen erheblichen Anteil an dem Unternehmen (be)halten. Die Investitionen beinhalten: reines Wachstumskapital (um dem Unternehmen mehr Geld zur Verfügung zu stellen), (teilweisen) Kauf von Anteilen von den Gesellschaftern, Austausch der Gesellschafter oder Kombinationen dergleichen, wobei wir uns offen halten auch in Minderheitsbeteiligungen (mindestens 40%) zu investieren.

Unsere Gründung

Avedon Capital Partners wurde 2003 als Teil der NIBC, einer Handelsbank mit Sitz in den Niederlanden, gegründet. Während Avedon ein Teil der NIBC war, investierte das Team über 250 Mio. € in Wachstumskapital und verwaltete einen unabhängigen Fonds, Avedon I.

Im Jahr 2011 erwarben die Partner 100% der Gesellschaft und sammelten 188 Mio. € an Kapital für den zweiten Fonds, Avedon II, ein.

Im Jahr 2017 sammelte Avedon über 300 Mio. € Kapital für den dritten Fonds, Avedon III, von internationalen institutionellen Investoren und einer Gruppe von Führungskräften aus den Niederlanden und Deutschland ein. 

Im Jahr 2021 sammelte Avedon über 600 Mio. € Kapital für den vierten Fonds, Avedon IV, von internationalen institutionellen Investoren und einer Gruppe von Führungskräften aus den Niederlanden und Deutschland ein. 

Das Investmentteam besteht aus 17 Investment Professionals, die von Büros in den Niederlanden (Amsterdam) und Deutschland (Düsseldorf) aus tätig sind, wo das Team seit 2007 präsent ist. Unterstützt wird das Investmentteam von einem General Counsel, einem CFO, einem Manager für Digitalisierung und Innovation, Office Support und einem Aufsichtsrat.

unsere Werte

Unser Engagement für nachhaltiges Wachstum

Nachhaltigkeit und effizientes Wachstum können Hand in Hand gehen wie die Natur zeigt, wo Pflanzen wie die Sonnenblume nach der mathematischen Fibonacci-Folge wachsen. Die Knoten der Scheibenblüten sind in Fibonacci-Spiralen auf dem Blütensockel organisiert, 34 auf der linken Seite und 55 auf der rechten Seite, 34 und 55 sind zwei Zahlen aus der Fibonacci-Folge. Jede einzelne Spirale bildet den Wachstumspfad eines Samens, der in einer blühenden Scheibenblütenknospe endet.

Die Sonnenblume mit der Fibonacci-Folge dient als Symbol für effizientes nachhaltiges Wachstum, welches ein Leitprinzip für Avedon darstellt, das tief in unseren Wurzeln verankert ist. Nachhaltiges Wachstum bestimmt unsere Werte und die Fibonacci-Sonnenblume ist zu einem Symbol für Avedons Werte geworden.

Collaboration comes first
  • We create a safe place and support each other 
  • We listen first with open-mind and speak up
  • We dare to challenge and to be vulnerable
  • We are inclusive and pursue diversity
  • We show appreciation and share feedback courageously
Better never
stops
  • We think independently and dare to act differently
  • We strive for improvement on what matters
  • We keep it as simple as possible, as complex as needed
  • We grow ourselves and learn from mistakes
  • We mentor and challenge each other 
Going forward makes the difference
  • We act with entrepreneurial spirit
  • We focus on impact and build to last
  • We are fully committed
  • We are proactive and responsive
  • Suche nach Diversität
  • We bring home
Humbleness is our compass
  • We keep our feet on the ground
  • We know that we don’t know
  • We are considerate
  • We hold ourselves accountable
  • We are fair and fun to work with

ESG

Unser Engagement für nachhaltige Wertschöpfung und soziale Verantwortung

Avedon ist sich bewusst, dass es in einer komplexen Welt agiert, in der die Knappheit der natürlichen Ressourcen, der Klimawandel und die oft widersprüchlichen Bedürfnisse verschiedener Akteure das globale Geschäftsumfeld rapide verändern. Wir sind bestrebt, diese Herausforderungen aktiv zu meistern, um langfristig erfolgreich zu sein.

Durch die Durchführung ihrer täglichen Geschäftstätigkeit haben unsere Beteiligungsgesellschaften einen Einfluss auf die Gesellschaft und die Umwelt. Als Investor mit langfristigem Horizont glauben wir, dass wir einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Förderung nachhaltiger Entwicklungen und zur Bewältigung der Umwelt-, Sozial- und Governance-Themen (ESG) im Zusammenhang mit unseren Investitionen leisten können. In seinem Einflussbereich engagiert sich Avedon dafür, einen positiven Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Gesellschaft für zukünftige Generationen zu leisten. Darüber hinaus ist es unsere feste Überzeugung, dass Unternehmen, die Nachhaltigkeit als Kernbestandteil ihrer Strategie integrieren und in ihren Geschäftsabläufen durchsetzen, die Möglichkeit erschaffen überdurchschnittliche Leistungen zu erbringen und höhere Renditen für alle Stakeholder zu erzielen.

Geschäftsethik

Wir bemühen uns, für unseren ethischen und verantwortungsvollen Governance-Ansatz anerkannt zu werden, und erwarten von unseren Portfoliounternehmen, dass sie hohe Standards der Geschäftsethik und alle relevanten Gesetze und Vorschriften einhalten. Avedon ist Mitglied von Invest Europe und NVP.

Mitarbeiter-orientiert

Wir sind uns bewusst, dass die Mitarbeiter der Schlüssel zum langfristigen Erfolg unserer Investitionen sind, und wir fördern Personalpraktiken, die darauf abzielen, dass alle Mitarbeiter wertgeschätzt und respektiert werden.

Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit

Wir bemühen uns, die Umweltauswirkungen unserer Portfoliounternehmen durch Energieeffizienz und solides Ressourcenmanagement zu reduzieren.

Einbettung von ESG Prinzipien

ESG-Risiken und -Chancen werden identifiziert und gesteuert, indem ESG-Überlegungen in jeden Schritt unseres Anlageprozesses eingebettet werden.

Aktiver Dialog

Als aktive Eigentümer inspirieren und ermutigen wir die Unternehmen durch aktiven Dialog ESG Themen zu einem Kernelement ihrer strategischen Ziele zu machen.

Transparenz

Wir fördern die Transparenz und werden unsere Stakeholder regelmäßig über die relevanten ESG-Themen unserer Investitionen und die Art und Weise, wie wir unser ESG-Rahmenwerk umsetzen, informieren.

Avedon Capital Partners is signatory of the PRI, the Principles for Responsible Investment and is committed to adopt and implement PRI’s Six Principles.
The Principles for Responsible Investment were developed by an international group of institutional investors reflecting the increasing relevance of environmental, social and corporate governance issues to investment practices. The process was convened by the United Nations Secretary-General.

Information on the Sustainable Finance Disclosure can be found hier.

About Avedon

We invest in rapidly growing companies that have reached an inflection point where a growth equity investment in combination with domain knowledge and active support can create significant value for all shareholders.

Our Focus

We believe that to be successful in adding sustainable value to our portfolio companies, we need to maintain a clear focus in a rigorous manner. We have built a deep track record that is repeatable in the following core focus areas:

Niche market leaders / hidden champions

We invest in companies that are, or have the ability to become, niche market leaders with proven and profitable business models in their core activities, and that are active in growing markets with healthy dynamics. These companies have a unique service or production model that is defendable in an industry we know well.

Lower end of mid-market in Benelux and Germany

We invest in companies that typically have a size of €15m to €150m enterprise value with sufficient room to mature and grow. The majority of business activities of the company are in the Benelux and Germany, but we have flexibility outside our core regions in industries we know well. Our equity investments range from €10m to €40m (with the capacity to access and deploy higher amounts).

Ability to professionalize and grow

We support our companies by providing both capital and expertise, whereby we aim to create high-performing sound companies as a basis to accelerate top-line growth. Examples of typical growth strategies that we have successfully supported are: (i) international expansion; (ii) roll-out of a proven concept; and (iii) buy-and-build platforms and a combination thereof.

Partnership with management or founder

We support management buyouts, family succession and corporate divestiture situations where we can work in partnership with strong and committed management teams or founder owners that have a substantial financial stake in the company. The investments are mostly structured as a combination of brining new money into the company and replacing existing shareholders, whereby we are willing to take minority positions (of at least 40%).

Our Foundation

Avedon Capital Partners was founded in 2003 as part of NIBC, a merchant bank based in the Netherlands. While at NIBC the team invested over €250m from the balance sheet and managed an independent fund, Avedon I, with €300m of commitments raised in 2007. In 2011 the partners acquired 100% of the management company and raised Avedon II, with €188m of commitments. In 2017 Avedon raised Avedon III, with €300m of commitments provided by international institutional investors and a group of senior executives residing in our two home markets – the Netherlands and Germany.

The investment team consists of 14 investment professionals operating from offices in the Netherlands (Amsterdam) and Germany (Düsseldorf), where the team has been present since 2007. The investment team is supported by a General Counsel, a CFO/Head of Investor Relations, an Investment Controller, Office Support and a Supervisory Board.

Our Values

Our commitment to sustainable growth

Sustainability and efficient growth can go hand in hand, as shown in nature by how plants such as the sunflower grow following the mathematical Fibonacci sequence. The nodes of the disc flowers are organised in Fibonacci spirals on the flower base, 34 to the left and 55 to the right, 34 and 55 being two numbers from the Fibonacci series. Each separate spiral forms the growth path of a seed ending in a thriving disc flower bud.

The sunflower displaying the Fibonacci sequence serves as a symbol for efficient sustainable growth, which is a guiding principle for Avedon, deeply anchored in our roots. Sustainable growth guiding our values, the Fibonacci-sunflower has become a symbol for Avedon’s values. These are the following:

We do our best to be the best

Strive for excellence
Continuously improve
Develop through mentoring & training
Innovate through experimentation
Think independently

We go out and bring home

Focus actions on impact towards mission/vision
Act with entrepreneurial spirit - be curious and explore
Get things done

We keep it simple

Strive for efficiency – less is more
Keep structures and processes simple
Move fast
Have a bias to act
Respect scarcity of resources

We are inclusive

Live meritocracy, not hierarchy
Start with trust
Act as one team, one portfolio
Bring people together
Be respected & trusted partners

We say what we mean

Speak up outside and inside, but listen first
Dare to be vulnerable
View constructive dissent as key to progress
Give & seek honest feedback
Be accountable – do as you say

ESG

Our commitment to sustainable value creation and social responsibility

Avedon recognizes that it operates in a complex world, where natural resource constraints, climate change and the often conflicting needs of various different stakeholders are rapidly changing the global business environment. We strive to manage these challenges actively in order to be successful over the long term.

Through the conduct of their everyday business operations, our investee companies have an impact on society and on the environment. As an investor with a long-term horizon, we believe that we can make an important contribution to the promotion of both sustainable developments and in addressing the environmental, social and governance (ESG) issues surrounding our investments. Within its sphere of influence, Avedon is committed to making a positive contribution towards a sustainable society for future generations. In addition, it is our strong belief that companies that incorporate sustainability as core part of their strategy and enforce it in their operations, create the ability to outperform and generate higher returns for all stakeholders.

Business ethics

We strive to be recognized for our ethical and responsible governance approach and expect our portfolio companies to adhere to high standards of business ethics and comply with all relevant laws and regulation. Avedon is a member of both Invest Europe and NVP.

Employee-centric

We recognize that the employees are key to the long-term success of our investments and we encourage human resources practices that value and respect all employees.

Environmental sustainability

We strive to reduce the environmental impact of our portfolio companies through energy efficiency and sound resource management.

ESG embedding processes

ESG risks and opportunities are identified and managed by embedding ESG considerations into each step of our investment process.

Active dialogue

As active owners, through active dialogue we inspire and encourage the companies to make ESG a core element of their strategic goals.

Transparency

We promote transparency and will inform our stakeholders on a regular basis on the relevant ESG issues of our investments and the way we have implemented our ESG Framework.